2024 Badass Minnesotan Award Winners

Badass members voted for the first annual Badass Minnesotans Awards, whose recipients were recognized at an April 13 event. The five individual and three organizational winners were selected from a collection of 2023-24 stories published on womenspress.com. We also had two honorary awards.

Veronica Mendez Moore, CTUL

A Conversation With Veronica Mendez Moore of CTUL

Mary Moriarty, Hennepin County Attorney

Talking to Mary Moriarty About Juvenile Justice Reform

Sue Abderholden, NAMI

Top Five Issues in Minnesota Mental Health System

Ellie Krug, Human Inspiration Works

Learning How to Open Vulnerability and Compassion

Tami Kromenaker, Red River Clinic

One Year After Dobbs, Minnesota Abortion Providers Speak

unable to attend the event

Linking Leaders, represented by ThaoMee Xiong of Council of Asian American Leaders

When Culture Combine: The Linking Leader Partnership

Our Justice, to aid in reproductive choices

One Year After Dobbs, Minnesota Abortion Providers Speak

Alternatives to Violence Project (video coming)

Breaking the Cycles That Lead to Violence

Members of the Alternatives to Violence Project, which won an organizational Badass Minnesotans award from Minnesota Women’s Press (photo by Sarah Whiting)

Honorary award: Lydia Moran

A Minnesota Women’s Press team member for five years, co-editor Lydia Moran is closing out her role with the magazine on April 19 and was recognized for everything she has done to make the publication what it is today. See a short video homage about how much she has meant to the magazine — particularly the publisher — for four years as staff and one year as freelance editor.

Co-editor Lydia Moran will be stepping away from Minnesota Women’s Press after five years and was recognized with an honorary Badass Minnesotan award (photo by Sarah Whiting)

Joyce Tofte of Marshall received an honorary Badass Minnesotan award from Minnesota Women’s Press publisher Mikki Morrissette

Honorary Award: Joyce Tofte, Marshall MN (video coming)

Minnesota Women’s Press has not done a story with her yet, so Joyce Tofte was not eligible for the voting by Badass members, but her work with the steering committee for the event and her future work with Changemakers Alliance initiatives related to content-and-conversations development about gender-based violence and collective health was recognized. She works in public safety for 



Badass Minnesotans gift basket donors

Minnesota Women’s Press Sales & Development director Ashley Findlay announced the donors who gave to the Badass Minnesotans award baskets

Sales & Development Director Ashley Findlay announced the generous donations that were given to the first annual Badass Minnesotans award recipients, valued at $500: